With just two contested local races, only 32.52 percent of registered voters in Nodaway County cast ballots in the August 2 Primary Election.

In the sheriff’s race on the Republican ballot, Randy Strong defeated Jamie Vicker with 2,168 votes to 1,054. Strong will face incumbent Sheriff Darren White (D), who ran unopposed, in the November 8 General Election.

Also on the Republican ballot, for north district commissioner, Chris Burns received 533 votes to defeat Luke Giesken, 424 votes, and Larry Haataja, 413 votes. Burns will face Democrat Merlin Atkins, also unopposed, in November.

All other local races were unopposed.

On the state level, the following is a list of winners by party, Democrat, Republican, Libertarian and Constitution, in each race. Nodaway County voters mirrored the state results except in the US Representative Democrat race where they chose Kyle Yarber with 25.66 percent of the votes to David M. Blackwell’s 22.75 percent.

US Senator: Jason Kander (D), Roy Blunt (R), Jonathan Dine (L), Fred Ryman (C)

Governor: Chris Koster (D), Eric Greitens (R), Cisse W. Spragins (L)

Lieutenant Governor: Russ Carnahan (D), Mike Parson (R), Steven R. Hedrick (L)

Secretary of State: Robin Smith (D), John (Jay) Ashcroft (R), Chris Morrill (L)

State Treasurer: Judy Baker (D), Eric Schmitt (R), Sean O’Toole (L)

Attorney General: Teresa Hensley (D), Josh Hawley (R)

US Rep – District 6: David M. Blackwell (D), Sam Graves (R), Russ Lee Monchil (L)

All results are unofficial. To see the full results, visit sos.mo.gov.

Facebook Comments