FCS donation helps Nodaway-Holt recoup after 2014 storm

Posted August 28, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Nearly one year after the September 9 storm that rendered the Nodaway-Holt vocational building useless, the district is in the process of rebuilding the ag shop. A $5,000 donation from FCS Financial will help the district purchase curriculum material for the agriculture department once the building is rebuilt. Nodaway-Holt ag teacher Steve Schniedermeyer hopes to be in the new building by the new year.

Those present from the Nodaway-Holt school district and FCS Financial for the check presentation are front: Kathy DeVault, Jeff Houts, Lisa Troth, RoxAnn Waegele, Karma Coleman; back: Ethan Sickles, Clint Callow and Schniedermeyer.

    Nodaway-Holt BOE


    The Nodaway-Holt School Board of Education met August 19 to address the following:

    After approval of the agenda, the board accepted the minutes from the July meeting as well as the bills for the month of August.

    Superintendent Karma Coleman reported that the district was beginning the year $44,000 lower than last year but that it’s hard to compare because she is awaiting insurance reimbursement for the ag shop,

    Read Full Story…

    South Nodaway BOE

    South Nodaway

    The South Nodaway R-IV Board of Education met August 19 in open and closed sessions to handle the following business for the school district:

    The tax rate for the South Nodaway school district was set at $5.8658 per $100 valuation, which is 4¢ less than the previous year. The operating level is set at $5.2758, plus the debt service at 59¢.

    The assessed valuation is $14,570,067 for this

    Read Full Story…

    North Nodaway BOE

    North Nodaway

    The North Nodaway School Board of Education met August 19 to address the following business:

    Before the meeting, a tax hearing was held. The levy was set at the rate of $4.7094. The debt service is 59¢ of that total. By making a $25,000 payment, the board will save roughly $2,300 in interest. The tax levy is lower this year while the assessed valuation went up.

    Under new

    Read Full Story…

    Maryville BOE


    The Maryville School Board of Education met August 19 to address the following:

    Prior to the meeting was a public hearing regarding the district tax levy. In open session, the board approved the district tax levy at $5.1303 for the upcoming school year. The total assessed valuation for the district is $189,118,020 which includes $2,069,930 in new construction/ improvements.

    The consent agenda was approved and included the bills for

    Read Full Story…


    Eagles take to the nation’s capitol

    Six students from the Jefferson FFA Chapter were given the opportunity to participate in the Washington Leadership Conference earlier this summer. Kelli Schieber, Emily Mattson, Ben Jermain, Bryce Deen, Grant Meyer, Caden Farnan and Advisor Jackie Carlson flew out of Kansas City International Airport early Monday morning and spent the rest of the day touring Washington, DC, before the conference started.

    On the first day of the conference, the students checked in and started to mingle, meeting new people

    Read Full Story…

School Archived

  • Clear Skies
  • Maryville, MO
  • Temperature: 90°F
  • Wind: S at 14 mph
  • Sunrise: 7:48 am GMT-5
  • Sunset: 8:50 pm GMT-5